Its Okay Not To Be Okay

Lately, I’ve been feeling rather… flat. Now, I’m not saying that my life is usually perfect, full of rainbows and puppies and unicorns, but it isn’t a bad life. I have a loving family, a small but close group of friends, a job, and I’m doing well in university.

Yet sometimes, I wake up with this nagging feeling that something isn’t quite right. It’s an odd feeling, almost as though everything is on a slant, and I’m struggling to keep my grip to stop myself sliding further and further down.

Feeling like you’re losing your balance in life is not a good feeling, and I tend to keep it to myself. It’s almost as though I feel this weird shame of feeling flat and wobbly, which is ridiculous, of course. I don’t think there’s a single person in the world who doesn’t have days where they feel flat. So why do I avoid talking about it? Surely I’m not the only one who puts on a brave face and pretends they don’t feel as though they’re completely off centre?

The fact is, we’re all human. We all have down days, just like we all have good days. It’s so easy to let a few negative feelings drag you off your axis, especially when you feel as though you’re the only one struggling.

Well, people of the internet, I am here to tell you that you are not the only person who has horrible, shitty, days that make you want to stay in bed and re-watch Gilmore Girls for the millionth time whilst eating like Lorelai and Rory (I’m talking all the junk food). Personally, I have one of those days once a week. But then again, I am especially dramatic.

My point is that it’s fine to have bad days; nobody would ever tell you not to have good days, would they? Bad days are related to good days, we can’t escape them no matter how perfect our lives are. So just embrace those gloomy days; stay in bed, eat ice cream, cry at sad films… whatever you want. We’re all entitled to a bad day; in fact, if I was ever put in a position to create my own laws, I think I would make it perfectly legal to call in sick to work due to feeling flat and sad.

Moral of the story (or I suppose, moral of the blog post): It’s perfectly fine to feel crappy, it’s fine to stay in bed all day, it’s fine to ignore people if you don’t want to talk. We all need to take care of our mental and emotional health a little bit more, don’t you think?

Love,

the girl with all the words. x 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑